Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

944 Turbo Central Lock Chaos

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2021, 07:25 PM
eastersm
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 944 Turbo Central Lock Chaos

I've got an '89 944 Turbo that just started to intermittently lock and unlock the central lock mechanism randomly with no input. I can push the central lock button and both locks will engage but then they immediately unlock. The same will go for when I try to lock the door from the outside locks as well. I've dug around and don't think the connecting rod is the issue given that the locks engage. Does anyone here have any ideas about what could be at the root of the issue? I've seen microswitch listed as a potential culprit but I'm fairly new to the 944 world and trying to at least be able to lock my door when I leave the car. Greatly appreciate any help!
Old 12-08-2021, 01:27 PM
951Tom
Three Wheelin'

Received 16 Likes on 13 Posts

The control module is a black box located on the steering column under the dash. You can disconnect the plug until you get it figured out. Roll the window down and test to make sure you can still lock and unlock it manually.