Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

944 Fuel Injector Reseal - Tips and Tricks

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2021, 08:54 PM
SC924S
Instructor

Received 37 Likes on 21 Posts
Default 944 Fuel Injector Reseal - Tips and Tricks

So I'll start this off by saying that I am no expert, but I recently had to remove my fuel rail and reseal my injectors twice because I did things wrong the first time. I didn't find a good write up anywhere on tips and tricks to properly reseal these injectors, so I wanted to make a small guide on how I had the most success. Hopefully someone will find it useful! People recommend just sending your injectors off to Witchhunter because they will clean and reseal them, which I have no issue with, but it just isn't feasible every time you have to pull the rail. And, for the low cost of a $16 reseal kit, you can do it yourself!

TOOLS
To remove the fuel rail, and the injectors, you will need the following tools:

Small blade flat-head screwdriver
10mm socket with extension, recommended U-Joint for socket as well for the back 2 bolts
10,11,12 mm open-end wrench (more on this later)
Small utility knife or razor blade
6mm socket (Again, more on this later)
Injector Reseal Kit ​​​​​- Either available from Rennbay or available from Autozone with the following part number: GP Sorensen Fuel Injector O-Ring 800-9281*
*NOTE: DO NOT GET THE GENERIC BOSCH SET! This is available on FCP Euro and a few other sites, but it will not seal properly. I had a fuel leak all over the intake after I was done. At best, you may experience some rough running since the pintle may be obscured by the taller cap. At worst, the injectors won't seal and leak fuel all over. When in doubt, go with the BLUE caps!

PROCEDURE - Resealing the Injectors