924 and 931 Forum 1976-1988

no start 924 turbo

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2008, 08:54 PM
shmark
Drifting

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default no start 924 turbo

Hi folks, jumping over from the 928 list. Some friends and I did something silly...we bought a 924 turbo for running in the 24 Hours of LeMons and we're trying to get it running. Right now the car is with one of the team in South Carolina and he's trying to get it started. So far here's the story, any ideas?

<Tim>
OK, I am not an expert with these things and I don't have any manuals, so here goes:

Started with the clutch. Line to the MC was broken. repl and bled clutch but pedal stays at the floor. Bled brakes, no fluid from both pass side caliper (who needs brakes, anyway?

Moved on to the motor. removed and replaced spark plugs. Put a little oil in the cylinders for the sake of it (a few drops)

Drained about 1/4 qt of oil (that's all that was in there). filled. Could not get filter off and gave up. The little oil I removed was very clean.

Moved to starting: put a battery in and at first it woudl not turn. Kept trying. beat the starter lighty and got it to turn over. Sounds pretty rough and turns over kinda slow. That's the best I got in that dept. Didn't get a bump or anything.

Checked spark - OK from #1 cylinder

Fuel - Removed and checked both fuel pumps. Internal pump is fine but the seal is dead - needs replacing. External pump is bad (gets VERY hot!) and does not turn. Replaced with F150 pump (don't ask) good for 60-90 psi.

Checked fuel at the fuel distributor - there is flow

Removed line to #1 fuel injector - no flow.
Old 05-06-2008, 09:04 PM
shmark
Drifting

Here's the beastie.
Old 05-06-2008, 09:17 PM
JEC_31
Three Wheelin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

This is going to be awesome.
Old 05-06-2008, 09:24 PM
SeanR
Rennlist Member

Received 501 Likes on 267 Posts

Originally Posted by shmark
Here's the beastie.