911 Turbo (930) Forum 1975-1989

1980 Porsche 930

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2017, 11:57 AM
tp81
Instructor

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default 1980 Porsche 930

Hi, I am new to the 930 section. The thread with my car is on DDK but though I would share with Rennlist as I tend to lurk in the background. Here are the majority of the pictures and updates to date.

I have posted in the past on other 993 cars I have owned. Love all things Porsche and have a 1973 E being restored (started in 2014...still a bit away), currently own a 1996 993 RS and have recently bought (Nov 16) a 930. The car is a one owner 44,000 miles, metallic black with black leather. It has been cosmetically neglected and not stored particularly well and is in need of a cosmetic refresh.

This caught my eye in February 2016, at the time it wasn't for sale. Totally blown away with a test drive and lusted after it ever since.

I intend to slowly bring it back to its glory.

Old 04-22-2017, 11:58 AM
tp81
Instructor

Those are the money shots....here's the more honest mugs shots.

Old 04-22-2017, 12:00 PM
tp81
Instructor

So far wheels off, coming back satin black, oil lines clamped rather than tie wrapped, rust off suspension components, seats out to have the bolsters fixed retaining the existing seat covers. Calipers off to be refreshed.....these have been rebuilt in recent time so just need freshened up. Engine will be coming out and all hoses pipes etc to be replaced. New air conditioning compressor sourced and new wheel purchased.

New rubber to be chosen. Originally the car was fitted with 205 front 225 rear, going for 205 and 245 which generally seems to be a recommended change.