911 Turbo (930) Forum 1975-1989

well the rebuild begins

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2009, 10:58 PM
kens911
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default well the rebuild begins

Pulled the motor friday, it's been smoking and leaking oil for a while so I have been procuring parts for several months. yesterday and today pulled it apart. I knew the rings were probably broke. The rings in cylinders 3,5 and 6 were broken. The pistons are ok and so are the cylinders. So tomorrow I'll split the case. After it started blowing by I filtered the oil every time I changed it and there was not metal in the oil. So it's going to be a 3.4 now new bearings rod bushings and rebushing the rocker arms. The last ime i had it out to fix some oil leaks i used hylomar instead of curil. all of the hylomar joints came apaert real easy, the others didnt. So i'll be using hylomar again putting it together. Havent decided if i am going to use the EBC again might just stick a 1 bar spring in the waste gate instead for reliability. There is oil every where all of the intake hoses, the intercooler, the vacuum lines. I have a LOT of cleaning to do now that everything is apart. The intake risers were falling in pieces, I dont get why porsche made these out of bakelite. So now i have to get some and quick, I plan on driving it home from the shop next friday.
Old 07-21-2009, 11:11 PM
A930Rocket
Nordschleife Master

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

That's a quick rebuild for next Friday... Good luck!!!
Old 07-21-2009, 11:19 PM
kens911
Burning Brakes

Thanks I have been collecting parts for a while. I took two weeks vacation, and I am working at a friends shop instead of my garage. So every morning i get up and go to the shop when they open, and work till 5 every evening so it should go pretty quick. Unless I run into something unexpected like the intake risers. But so far everything else is as expected.
Old 07-21-2009, 11:24 PM
Mark Houghton
Burning Brakes

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts