911 Turbo (930) Forum 1975-1989

930 modified vrs stock

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2009, 11:29 AM
whiter
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 930 modified vrs stock

Hi all I am new to this and trying to decide between a 993 NA or a 930. I have gotton various differing opinions on the issue. I am wondering from a cost maintenance standpoint if one is better off getting a stock 930 vrs a modified.I know that the turbo creates heat and is tougher on the engine at what point do these need a rebuild seems like everything I have seen has had a rebuild by 60k. I do know that the mods are variable per car and it depends on who did it and what but like I say I am new and need to get all my facts if I can.All this caution being stated. Every highly modified 930 I have seen has been sold before I have been able to even get a call in to the owner to talk about it. I am trying to start out 30k to low 40s if I can. Also is the G50 in an 89 worth the added 10k in price? I look forward to any help from those with more expireince than I Thanks in advance RW
Old 07-02-2009, 01:08 PM
Last930
Burning Brakes

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

My '79 is mostly stock (K27 turbo, headers) with 62K on it , and has good leakdown #'s with no sign of needing a rebuild. Heat is the enemy of these engines. Good oil coolers and lifelong use of synthetic oil has helped keep my engine in good shape. Get a good PPI , as you will hear here multiple times.
Old 07-02-2009, 03:27 PM
911rudy
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

What ever car you decide on make sure that the previous owner did all the things that you think you might want later. Its a whole lot cheaper than you doing it or having it done. Stock is not that much of a benefit unless you want collectability. There are numerous mods that are almost standard on any driver. EFI and major engine mods are great but make sure that where you live that there is someone who knows his stuff on these issues.