Notices
911 Turbo (930) Forum 1975-1989

911 Cab Turbo Conversion For Newbie/ Help?

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2006, 12:18 AM
shattergard
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 911 Cab Turbo Conversion For Newbie/ Help?

Please excuse my questions as I am new to owning a PORSCHE. I am considering the purchase of a 1988 911 cab that was converted to a steel widebody and fully repainted. In addition, the engine was replaced with a turbo cab engine and has a documented 11000 miles on it.

First off, am I making a mastake buying a conversion, even if the upgrade was done properly. How much should I pay for such a car? Does a conversion kill the resale? The paint job is great and the interior is beautiful.

PLEASE SEE LIMITED INFO FROM THE ONLINE
AD ON THE CAR BELOW

1988 PORSCHE 911 TURBO, 10,600 mi, lthr, p/seats, p/windows, 1994 Turbo conversion on Cabriolet 3.6 liter turbo, speedlines & much more,
Alloy Wheels; Compact Disc Player; Power Seats; Leather Seats; Power Windows;

I WOULD REALLY APPRECIATE EVERYONES HELP.

Thanks so much

Jordan
Old 04-17-2006, 12:32 AM
YYC930
Three Wheelin'

Buy a "real" car instead of someone else's "hack" job.

And as I do not know this exact car you are talking about in terms of it's quality, etc, "hack" job may or may not be an appropriate description in this case........but it usually is............I've sold 500 Porsches in 18 years.....and I've seen it all man.....

I'll only offer my general advice.........FWIW.......

1-People "generally" do not take perfectly good cars and cut them up into something they are not, unless what they are making was not available from the factory. You can buy factory turbo looks and turbo cabs. I have 3 in stock right now for example......and Canada got 1/10 the cars the US did at this time.