911 Turbo (930) Forum 1975-1989

What could drain my battery?

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2005, 06:55 PM
chc
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What could drain my battery?

I just bought this 930 a month ago. The PO told me if I don't drive the car at least one time a week, I should have the battery disconnected otherwaise the alarm system will drain the battery (dose not make sense to me). So last time when I drove the car is about 8 days ago, when I tried to start my car this morning, the battery just does not have enough juice to crank it up then either I open the door or open the hood, don't quite remember, the alarm just went off. Finally, I managed to disconnected the battery to shut down the stock alarm system. The battery is less than 6 months old I will say. How can I identify what is drainning my battery or I just need to drive the car a little bit more. By the way, I am totally new to Porsche, I have very limited knowledge about this car.
Old 11-21-2005, 07:51 PM
A930Rocket
Nordschleife Master

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts

I guess it would take time, but you could pull 2-4 fuses at a time and wait until you drive it next time. Replace the fuses and if it starts up, it would be in one of those circuits. If it doesn't start up, try a few more fuses, etc.

Mine can sit for weeks without problms.

You can tell electricity isn't my friend. LOL
Old 11-21-2005, 09:01 PM
blackboy
Pro

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Alarm will definitely drain the battery over time. I shut the alarm off when it is in my garage.
Old 11-21-2005, 09:36 PM
38D
Nordschleife Master

Received 812 Likes on 413 Posts

I would try just disconnecting the alarm, and then see if it still drains.
Old 11-22-2005, 01:49 AM
chc
Track Day

How do you disconnect the alarm? Can I find it in the alarm manual? Will try to find it tonighht. I also got the remote with a weak battery inside, havn't figured it out how to use it yet.
Old 11-22-2005, 01:53 AM
911rudy
Addict
Rennlist Member