Notices
911 Turbo (930) Forum 1975-1989

If you had 10 to 15K what would you spend it on(Upgrades)

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2005, 08:06 PM
vascott99
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default If you had 10 to 15K what would you spend it on(Upgrades)

Hey all...

Newbie here with a trivial question...

What would you buy for a stock 79 930..with 45k miles

I am trying to figure out projects that I can do for the next several years and need ideas on what I should upgrade and why...I figure this would be the place to get some great ideas. I do not have the money now but I am trying to save so that when I do the upgrades I know what to get and why I am getting them.....

BTW the car is in pretty solid condition
Interior and exterior

Also the brands with good reps

Thanks all for your help
Old 11-10-2005, 08:21 PM
sand_man
Drifting

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

This comes from a guy that uses his 930 as a daily driver: the best upgrade imaginable is a beater car to drive around while the "low mileage" toy is being sorted out!
Old 11-10-2005, 08:25 PM
vascott99
Instructor

This is strictly a weekend car and hibernates during the winter months

mainly used for street driving and a few DE's
Old 11-10-2005, 08:46 PM
WERK-I
Pro

Suspension and engine......in that order.
Old 11-11-2005, 01:32 AM
Sameer
Race Car

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Updated whatever that needs to be updated. Electrical, leaks, worn out parts and a full service. After that I'd do the below:

Kokeln Long neck intercooler
1 bar boost spring
Fuel head mod
Port and polish intake manifold to anywhere between 38mm-41mm
B&B headers
Fabspeed muffler
K&N panel air filter and make a few 1 inch holes under the air box
Sc 330, 964 or Ruf Cams
K27HFS turbo
Additional oil cooler
Heavy duty clutch
Suspension mods
Big red brakes

I'm sure all the above will cot more that what you wanna spend but it's all mostly bolt on's and will put you way over the 430bhp mark with reliability with regular maintenance.