Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

Introduction

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2015, 08:33 PM
dwight45
Advanced

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Introduction

I have been a lurker on the forum for a while and thought it time to join the group. I have an 82 SC that I have been driving for 18 years. It has been the coolest car I have owned and the only performance car. She ( she's my ship) has been showing the 150K miles and I decided she needed paint. I had a small bit of rust bubbling up on the drivers fender and a windshield leak on the passenger side. She has been in the shop for a week and I likely won't be driving until spring. Of course it has been sunny and cold for two days and perfect driving weather. She is being treated to a windows out/ bare metal respray. The color is Palisander Rosewood Metallic. My dilemma is should I stick with the factory color or paint her a color that I really like. I'm 69 and can't really see me blasting around the roads in my 80's so I will eventually sell her. There are a bazillion SC's out there for people to collect and factory color seems to be what some want. I like I like Irish Green very much but it's not an SC color. Opinions welcome due to their price. I also have a few power-up ideas but my wife is not on board for that.
Old 01-01-2015, 08:38 PM
ADias
Nordschleife Master

Received 395 Likes on 271 Posts

To retain value keep the original factory color. That will also blend well with the hidden sections which will not be re-sprayed. To keep value leave it stock and well maintained.

Palisander Rosewood Metallic is a nice SC color:

Old 01-01-2015, 09:17 PM
Freddie Two Bs
Rennlist Member

Received 464 Likes on 295 Posts

Originally Posted by dwight45
I'm 69 and can't really see me blasting around the roads in my 80's
Why not? Paul Newman raced in the 24 hrs of Daytona at age 80...

factory color seems to be what some want.