Notices
911 Forum 1964-1989
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

disconnecting/removing AC - noticeable difference?

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2001, 01:24 PM
DTFASTBEAR
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question disconnecting/removing AC - noticeable difference?

I'm still pretty new to this whole 911 thing, but I've heard that disconnecting and/or removing the AC will make a performance difference. I have an 86 euro 911 Cabriolet that I have started autocrossing quite a bit. I NEVER use the AC, so I would not miss it. I plan to keep the car for a long time, and it already has enough little things changed that I am not worried about keeping it "original" or stock for resale purposes.

So, will just disconnecting the belt that runs the compressor make any sort of noticeable performance difference? Will removing all the AC components be worth the trouble and weight savings?

Thoughts, comments, advice on the procedure are greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Dean
Old 07-03-2001, 02:51 PM
markusO
Track Day

I've heard that a total weight loss in the range of 50 pounds can be achieved with removal of all AC equipment. I am also considering removing mine as I never use it. Was thinking to just remove the compressor and condensor and leave the lines and equipment behind the dash intact for the future. I've heard it can be a project to remove the latter stuff but if eventually done, I'd want to be able to have fresh air routed through the ducts in the dash.

Anyone have any thoughts about this partial removal idea?

Thanks,
Markus
'80 Targa
Old 07-03-2001, 03:13 PM
Mark Kiwior
Advanced