Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums (https://rennlist.com/forums/)
-   911 Forum (https://rennlist.com/forums/911-forum-56/)
-   -   Taking the Plunge ('89 Carrera) - and interested in your opinion(s) (https://rennlist.com/forums/911-forum/643113-taking-the-plunge-89-carrera-and-interested-in-your-opinion-s.html)

rmcquet 07-08-2011 12:22 AM

Taking the Plunge ('89 Carrera) - and interested in your opinion(s)

I'm a newbie, first post on this forum.
But I've already read a number of posts that chronicled the purchase of various "new" 911s, and I've really enjoyed reading about them.

So, thought I would do the same.
Long story short: friend of mine in Calif is selling his 1989 Carrera, black on black, 121k miles, he is second owner.

I know nothing about Porsches other than some advice from a few friends, what I've read on this forum, and the 101 Projects book that arrived yesterday via Amazon.

I will post pics of the car soon, and update on progress.

Question for everyone here: during PPI, mechanic came up with a list of To Dos, both immediate and for later. Do you think the prices quoted below are reasonable?

Immediate: brake caliper rebuild all around ($1,100) and replace ball joints ($330). Do these quotes make sense/sound reasonable?

For Later (nxt 5 - 10k miles): small leak around valve cover gasket, replace intermediate shaft O-ring, A/C needs recharge, left side oil return tubes, 1 of the booster fans isn't working, replace axle assemby and CV joints/boots

As much as I look forward to projects on my new car, I'm not sure I want my first foray underneath to be major steering and braking components. I'm not that confident in my mechanical skills quite yet.

So, I 'm just leaning toward doing the work, then having the car shipped to me.

Thanks, that's all for now until more pics

rusnak 07-08-2011 12:39 AM

hey, welcome to Rennlist.