Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2011, 01:11 PM
steve g
Burning Brakes

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 1980

Seems like a good price, no affiliation, but wanted to pass this on. I am no expert on early 911 cars. I will take a closer look this afternoon on my way home from work.

http://www.cars.com/go/search/detail...5&aff=national
Old 06-24-2011, 01:22 PM
jackb911
Rennlist Member

Received 151 Likes on 56 Posts

Hopefully that (what appears to be) a big oil puddle under the right rear of the car in the rear end picture didn't come from that car.

If you are serious about buying it, a pre-purchase inspection by a good independent Porsche mechanic will be money well spent. Make sure they check for broken head studs. And evidence of body rust, too.

And check the records carefully. If the engine was dismantled and "resealed", were the valve guides replaced?

With all that said, the car looks pretty good for the price, at least in pictures.
Old 06-24-2011, 01:57 PM
Amber Gramps
Addict

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts

The rear seat belts are missing, the center vent,....and I'll bet the oil smells of Porsche.

It actually looks like Clive's.
Old 06-24-2011, 03:30 PM
Caferacer
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Sheepskins are never a good sign but seats don't make the car. From the location and fresh appearance of that oil, is it possibly a spill from topping off? Though you would have to be severely spastic to get that much on the deck.

Inner voice saying (in a Brooklyn accent), "What, already you're an expert?"
Old 06-24-2011, 06:08 PM
theiceman
Team Owner

Received 1,120 Likes on 802 Posts

great Doug .. now i have to go look .. i usually skip over these posts ..if it s got an oil pudle .. its exactly like mine
Old 06-24-2011, 06:14 PM
theiceman
Team Owner

Received 1,120 Likes on 802 Posts

yeah something funky looking about that car
Looks like the coupe version of mine .