Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

964 vs 911 vs. Boxster

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2003, 03:56 PM
gcclubs
AutoX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post 964 vs 911 vs. Boxster

I am currently a newbie in that I am looking for but do not own a Porsche. I have a couple of questions

- first is there any good internet sites to go to to look for a Porsche for sale other than ebay?

- I am looking either for a late 80's 911 or the 90 onwards 964. I would like some thoughts on reasons why I might choose one vs the other, ignoring the obvious "one is newer". In the past I have read some posts that imply that the older 911 can be more of a handful to drive. The post never really said why so any input is greatly appreciated on this or other reasons. I am leaning to the 964 at the current time.

- Looking at the pricing of Boxsters vs. 964's (on ebay) it seems that the price of the older Boxsters is near or in some cases less than the 911/964. I realize that there are a number of obvious differences, like water vs air but in the groups mind is there any advantages of one vs the other, like more driving enjoyment, better handling, better value retention etc .

- I realize I am asking the 911 guys a loaded question here but wonder if there is anyone who owns both, and what their thoughts might be?

Thanks for helping a new guy.
Old 03-03-2003, 04:17 PM
JackOlsen
Race Car

Received 62 Likes on 48 Posts
The 964's are a great bargain right now, in that their exterior styling is less popular than the 78-89 cars, and because they have a largely-undeserved reputation for having cylinder-head-gasket problems, dual-mass flywheel problems, and prone-to-failure dual-distributor belts. They're slightly less user-serviceable than the 84-89 cars, but they also have a lot more torque and power than the earlier cars, as well as better air conditioning, brakes, and a more-modern suspension design.