Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

New Driver - need help with auto washer

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2001, 01:50 AM
desoto
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post New Driver - need help with auto washer

I recently bought a 1987 911 Carrera Coupe. I have been looking for quite a while and found a great one in my opinion.

The pre-purchase inspection found the car to be in excellent condition with minor things to be repaired.

1. Can someone direct me to a source or tell me how to fix the automatic window washer system?

2. I am a novice working with cars but I am eager to learn and look forward to my new hobby. Does anyone have any advice or books that I should pick up on instruction for maintaining a sports car?

3. After I bought it, I drove it home (2 hours in the rain from Atlanta) and the oil gauge was in the red. The next morning I added about 4.5 quarts of Mobil 1 (SAF 50) red cap. It seemed about right as I was checking the gauge by idling for 2-3 minutes between quarts - however when I put in the last one, I clearly went over the maximum amount and the gauge was above the "white area" for an extended trip yesterday. It came down into the white area after the trip. My question is - did I hurt the engine by having too much oil? If so, should I change the oil out or should I have drained a little bit to get it back to a lower level?

Thanks for your help in advance.

DeSoto

P.S. Any other first time driver books, manuals, magazines that I should get - let me know.

1987 Carrera
Old 09-03-2001, 02:17 AM
CamB
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Thumbs up

Congratulations!

Hmmm, lots of questions so I'll give short (and if wrong, someone will correct me) answers:

1. Automatic window washer system? No experience (yet) on my car - see Bentley manual below, perhaps. It should be pretty simple - pump, lines, reservoir, nozzles... Check the relay first.

2. Books, etc - heaps of options here: