Car caught fire and I could use some info

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2009, 10:19 AM
talane
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Car caught fire and I could use some info

Guys,
Last night they car cought fire but I was able to put it out pretty quickly but there was some fixable damage. I am new to the 911 world and would like to know the names of the components. The fire was in the area where the fresh air is controlled (in the back of the trunk behind the carpet). There is also a control module that plugs back there that is melted. Can you tell me what these things are called.

Any ideas of what caused the fire would be helpful too. I am wondering if the control module shorted. that area was prestine before the fire. I am baffled as to what started it.

Your thoughts are appreciated.

Oh, I used a gallon of Sunny Delight, pissed on it and eventually a fire extinguisher (passing motorist) to put it out.
Attached Images    
Old 11-23-2009, 10:37 AM
theiceman
Team Owner

Received 1,102 Likes on 787 Posts

i WONDER IF THE FRESH AIR BLOWER FAN OVERHEAED oopssorry aboiut the caps.

First things first clean up all thet fire extinguisher stuff fast cause it is very bad for anything it touches ..
There is the fresh air blower box in there , as well as the wiper motors .. Hard to tell from the pics what started it though ...
Old 11-23-2009, 02:08 PM
butzip
Burning Brakes

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

WOW!!! never seen this one before. Did you really **** on it?!?!? The control module that is pictured is the central ecu for the factory alarm. It is hard to tell from the pics where it started I can only guess it was the fan motor that locked up and overheated but a fuse should blow long before that happens....... looks like there some odd wiring in there for something hopefully the PO didn't wire the fan direct to the battery