HarrisRacing's 1977 911S 2.7 build/resto log

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2009, 01:17 PM
HarrisRacing
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile HarrisRacing's 1977 911S 2.7 build/resto log

Greetings,

While not new to the sportscar world, I am new to Porsches. I am always on the lookout for the next project, and have thought Porsches a bit expensive to get into until now. I stumbled upon a 1977 911S Coupe w/ sunroof for sale (US)that was just 20 minutes from my house and just HAD to get it. I did as much research as I could and thouroughly inspected the car before purchase and took a slight gamble that it would pan out as a working car (restorable) instead of a parts car. The owner had receipts dated 2004 or so for all kinds of work on the motor (head R&R, thread inserts - I'm guessing in the case, cam issues, etc), and more receipts from 2007 for ignition, points, etc, but the car had not run since sometime in 2007. I'm not scared to rebuild or work on ANYTHING, but I wanted to make sure I was getting something for the $$$. He had neglected it and said it never had run "properly". The car has 112.5k miles on it, but the work dated in 2004 states the car had only 111k when they did it. At first I found it hard to believe, but the more I read the more I realize that it must not have run good enough for anyone to drive after the first rebuild. Also I found out that the first owner died and widow sold it to the guy I bought it from. I did check and the ODO still works, so this really means the car didn't move much.

So, it wouldn't start when I bought it and there are lots of issues that need to be addressed.

The good:
The thermal reactors were replaced by some shorty headers
Someone back-dated the exhaust
The pressure-fed tensioners are on the car
The lower Turbo valve covers are on (stock 911s covers are in place on top)
New points, new cap, and new rotor on the car
The body is VERY straight!