Notices
911 Forum 1964-1989
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

Ignition Wire Replacement Recommendation?

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2009, 06:08 PM
Slimwear
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ignition Wire Replacement Recommendation?

I've been sorting through my new to me 1986 Targa over the last month and I've noticed some really bad cracking on the robber covering of the ignition wires. I want to replace them and after looking on the internet I've noticed there are a million options and varied prices. Does anyone have a recommendation for a set of wires? This isn't a race machine but rather a weekend fun car. Money really isn't a big issue, just a good set that will perform well and last me a while.

Thanks in advance,

Emery
Old 10-05-2009, 06:16 PM
rusnak
I haddah Google dat
Rennlist Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

The stock Beru wires will serve you well. I have no experience with aftermarket ones, so no comment from me on them.
Old 10-05-2009, 06:41 PM
ron mcatee
Rennlist Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Many on this forum have or are using Magnecore. I use the 8.5 mm red ones on my 88 Carrera.
Old 10-05-2009, 07:47 PM
Steve Weiner-Rennsport Systems
RL Technical Advisor

Received 64 Likes on 48 Posts

We use, recommend and sell the Magnecor 8.5mm ones. IMHO, these outlast everything else I've tried over the past 30 years,...
Old 10-05-2009, 08:53 PM
Slimwear
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Thanks for the suggestions everyone.

Steve, I'll call the store tomorrow and order a set.

Regards,

Emery
Old 10-05-2009, 08:56 PM
RL Technical Advisor

Originally Posted by Slimwear
Thanks for the suggestions everyone.

Steve, I'll call the store tomorrow and order a set.

Regards,

Emery
I have them on the shelf if you need any.
Old 10-12-2009, 04:43 AM
RoninLB
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Magnecore 8.5 has been a great wire in ride for many years

Berus are a problem waiting to happen imho