Rebuilding 80 3.0L need advise

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2009, 12:35 AM
Dave Mitchell
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rebuilding 80 3.0L need advise

Hi,

I have been twisting wrenches for 30+ years and now I'm going to rebuild my first Porsche 911 motor. The motor is for a Intermeccanica reproduction speedster much like the one written about in Excellence Sept 2003. I have done a lot of reading and there are thousands of possibilities. Obliviously I don't need 450HP in a 2200 pound car, well I guess I could but that is not what I'm after. What I am after is a motor that is as drivable as my 86 Carrera and as trouble free but I want carbs because I want that look in my 'hot rod". I have heard and read a lot about the "Short Stroke 3.2L" and the "High Performance 3.0L" in Wayne Dempsey's book. Which would give me the better low end torque and milder manners for a great street ride? Or is there a better option?

Thanks in advance.

http://www.intermeccanica.com/site_a...EXCELLENCE.pdf
Old 09-26-2009, 01:27 AM
theiceman
Team Owner

Received 1,118 Likes on 800 Posts

Like most things it comes down to budget ... we had a thread recently that talked about the short stroke 3.2 and the 98mm cylinders , and you are into some mucho dollars .. do a search on PMO's as we also talked about that recently and it seams to be a well liked mod for those who have done it . They also talk about the HP output of these modded systems to .
Old 09-26-2009, 03:10 AM
Dave Mitchell
6th Gear

Default I searched and found little.....

If you could point me to the thread you mentioned would be helpful. I searched short stroke 3.2 and got a couple of things but most were from a long time ago.

Thanks.
Old 09-26-2009, 03:37 AM
earlyapex
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 62 Likes on 32 Posts

Dave, my stock 3.0L motor with PMO carb's and headers makes 240 hp. That should be plenty to motivate a 2200 lbs car and much cheaper to build than some of the motors you mentioned.