Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

Value of a 1974 911

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2009, 03:40 PM
Damien Lewis
Rennlist Member

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Value of a 1974 911

Hi...This is my first time posting in the 911 forum and I need some advice.

I lost my closest friend in the world back in April. He and I love Porsches - It was what originally brought us together as friends years ago. He has/had 5 P-cars that are all in various states of driveability.

My friend (his name was Evan) had a 1974 911 that I am in the process of getting ready to sell for his Estate. He bought the car a couple of years ago with the intention of using it as his track car. The prior owner spent a great deal of money restoring the car to be a "Ruf Yellow-Bird" look-a-like (body-wise). Evan bought the car when the prior owner was going through a nasty divorce and didnt have the resources to finish the car. The car was about 90% complete when my friend bought it and needed that extra 10% to finish it up.

When Evan bought the 911, he sent it over to TRE Performance in Reseda - he and I have used TRE for years and consider them the best of the best when it comes to Porsche. They are more like friends than people we entrust our cars to and they have never steered us wrong.

TRE performed a variety of things to the 911 to help finish it up. Evan performed some of the additional work as well (interior and other small items) and was able to track the car at Willow once some of the work was done. The car is still a work-in-progress and needs a little more TLC to be perfect.