Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

Autocross wheels and tires

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2001, 12:18 PM
DTFASTBEAR
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Autocross wheels and tires

I just got back from a SUPERBLY run Zone 7 autocross event at Mather Field this weekend near Sacramento and now I want more out of
my car. So, the obvious first step is losing the street tires in favor of something stickier...

I have a gray-market '86 911 Cab which puts me in PCA L-Production class because of the higher compression ratio European engine. So, I think I can go to full on racing tires in Production class, no? I don't need to stick to the DOT approved streetable tires, in other words. Is this advisable? I have no experience with real race tires, so I don't know how they compare in life-span, grip, shelf-life, etc. to street-legal autocross specific tires like Khumos and R1s. I have a lot of experience with those types of tires from years ago in SCCA autocrossing. I wouldn't even know where to buy racing slicks! Any advice in this area is much appreciated.

Second, what to do about rims... I run Fikse 8 and 9x17's for the street, but I imagine I want smaller (diameter at least) wheels for autocrossing. I have a set of 6 and 7x16 Fuchs. I was thinking of running the 7s in front and getting a pair of 8x16s for the back. What do you think of that combo What size race tires would I put on those rims? Any other advice for wheels?

Thanks in advance for any advice, and thanks to those who helped in any way with the events this past weekend.

Cheers,
Dean
Old 06-04-2001, 01:30 PM
Clark Griswald
Advanced

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Dean,

I was at Mather on Sunday. Good day, not too hot.

Based on the description I am guessing you had the white cab with roll bar? I had (one of the several) 86 red cabs.

A couple thoughts on trade offs.