1978 SC Advice

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2009, 10:56 AM
Fantor
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1978 SC Advice

Hi:
I am new to the Porsche world and am looking at buying my first 911..:-) What do you guys think of this eBay 911sc Item number: 220354708145 ? I know it's not worth no where near the buy now amount. However, I was wondering if it's even worth offering a few thousand for it considering the mileage and listed problems it has, not to mention any possible hidden/unknown problems. Any input would be great.
Also, if I go take a look at the car what other Porsche type problem things should I be looking for above and beyond the normal car inspection stuff.

Thank You: Fantor
Old 02-04-2009, 12:54 PM
Brads911sc
Racer

The experts can weigh in. Ill tell you my story... its all i know... I have an 83 SC and work on my own car. Paid 13k. Was listed for 16k. EurocarWerk (PCA-LSR endorsed for doing Pre-DE inspections) here in Houston did the PPI. Said it was the cleanest 3.0 Litre he had seen in years... It was dry, with no major issues on the PPI.... I have owned it two years now. SSI's/Dansk exhaust (old exchangers had some rust), Ignition switch, New AC system (cant do without AC in TX), Targa Top restore from CarsInc, New Clutch Kit/Cable, Valve Job, new Pirelli tires.. dropped anoth 8k in parts and tools and I do the work myself. Havent touched the brakes or suspension where I could easily drop another 3k without changing it from stock. and this was work done to "the cleanest 3.0 litre he had seen in years..." Are you going to work on it or pay to have it worked on? Are you looking for a track car? street/Stock car? Daily driver? Weekend use?
A rule of thumb is that every 911 is a 20k car. Id say that is true if you do your own work and are only paying for parts. If you are paying a well regarded shop, then Id say every 911 is more like a 25-30k car...