Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

Newbie/Looking at 84 911

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2008, 11:45 PM
wolf76
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie/Looking at 84 911

Hello everyone. I have been searching for a Porsche for quite some time now exploring all the different models and have decided on a 911. I have owned a 356 in the past so I have some extent of the experience. I have found a 1984 911 coupe and have a few ?'s. The current owner doesn't drive it often in fact he only put on 5000 miles in the past 7 years. He has receipts for a new clutch, valve adjustment as well as various replacement parts for the interior as well as regular oil changes. The body and interior are in nice shape with moderate wear. No rust or signs of an accident. I drove the car the other day and noticed the following:
1. The oil/duc? pressure was high (3/4 mark) when the car was in gear and would drop to the 1/4 mark stopped in neutral. Is this okay?
2. There is a funny smell (maybe exhaust?) somewhat sweet when the car is running.
3. The temp/vent controls requires a little wiggling to work.
4. The AC has been removed (not all that uncommon if I'm not mistaken)
5. The valves are a bit noisy as he has not adjusted them during his ownership.
The temperature seemed good (below the 1/2 mark) as did the idle (about 800). The gear change was smooth with no grinding. There was no smoke either or signs of any leaks. The car has 94000 miles. I am wondering if I should go ahead with a PPI or if any of the above mentioned issues should make me walk away now. Sorry for the long post. All opinions and comments are appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Chris
Old 09-12-2008, 12:13 AM
Batman 357
Instructor

A PPI is a wise investment but it sounds good so far.
Old 09-12-2008, 12:19 AM
Amber Gramps
Addict

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts