Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

Tire wear

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2006, 02:15 PM
George Weigand
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tire wear

I recently had my '81 911SC Fuch wheels balanced and found that the front tires (Kumho ECSTA Supra 205/55R16 91V) have worn down considerably on the inner edge after about 15k miles. Before I begin to rectify the situation with allignment, tires, ballance, etc. I would appriciate any comments from others.
Thanks
PS I live in Cypress, CA.
Attached Images  
Old 11-12-2006, 02:22 PM
SeattlePorsche
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Relative newbie here, but I like to guess. Could be either too much toe-in or too much negative camber. If there is too much toe-in, as was the case with my old Saab, my alignment guy told me it is like driving a snowplow. Too much negative camber and the tire rests on the inside of the tread. (I might have negative and positive mixed up, but you get the idea.) Either way, I would guess this is just an alignment issue. Sorry about the tires. Sometimes they can take both front tires off and remount them on the opposite side so you get a little more mileage out of em.
Old 11-13-2006, 11:05 AM
dsmith
Racer

You have an alignment issue and need to get readings to find out why/what is off, or not to your liking. I would suspect a toe issue. Hopefully, nobody has lowered the front without setting toe.

Is the wear about the same on each side? Actually, 15k miles on a cheap junk tire like the 712 isn't bad for a 911, me thinks, though I would expect that kind of wear on the back too. For the least tire wear, you want close to 0 degrees toe and camber, erring to negative camber and positive to (toe-in) for stability. If you want a performance oriented alignment, you basically have to throw tire wear out the window.