Porschenut_Lee
Rennlist Member

Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts
Default 915 DIY Good Idea?

Hi all,

Lets get the details out of the way:

1984 Carrera Targa
88,000 miles
No major rebuilds ever done on engine or tranny.
Engine runs beautifully, tranny is slowly getting worse.

1st to 2nd shift is awful, and really kills the fun when trying to accelerate hard. 3rd is becomming increasingly difficult to put in and out of gear. Grinding when 5th to 4th, and into reverse if I don't slide into 1st gear beforehand to align.

I have seen a lot of posts concerning the difficulty of a 915 rebuild. Some feel that it isn't that bad, others feel that it is better left to a pro. My problem is that I am not a pro, actually have never seen a tranny torn a part. I am mechanically inclined, have done several complete suspension, brake, steering component rebuilds, etc, but have never been involved with tranny work.

1. Am I crazy to attempt this? How difficult is the rebuild?

2. If I am saving the cost of the labor to do the rebuild, I would like to go ahead and replace all synchros, dogteeth, sliders, etc.
Where can I buy all of the components I need includng the above mentioned, gaskets, etc as a package deal so that i don't kill the wallet purchasing seperately?

3. Is there a good reference that I should have handy when I do the job, and possibly read from cover to cover prior to attempting?

4. Specialty tools required?

5. How long can I expect the car to be "out sick" while doctor nutcase attempts the rebuild himself (assuming that I am doctor nutcase of course)?

I want to learn to do every aspect of repair on these cars. It drives me crazy to not know how to work on my car, and as a relatively new owner I have a lot of leraning to do. This would not only be a good start, but a hell of a bonding experience with the car. I'm sure I would have alot more respect for the trannsmission afterwards.

Any input or advice would be great from those with previous experience.