Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

MegaSquirt vs TEC3? Opinions???

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2006 | 01:12 PM
TonyG
Rennlist Junkie Forever

Default MegaSquirt vs TEC3? Opinions???

Pulled my 50mm PMO's from my 3.6L 911SC and have purchased the full TWM individual throttle body fuel injection setup.

Currently I have a Electromotive XDi crank-fire, twin plug setup.

At this point I can go with a simple MegaSquirt (which I have zero experience with) or or remove the XDi box, and install the TEC3 box (which does both fuel and ignition).

The TEC3 is about $2k. The MegaSquirt is about $500

Which way to go?

TonyG

Last edited by TonyG; 05-25-2006 at 03:22 PM.
Old 05-26-2006 | 11:49 PM
911mac
5th Gear

I'm running Megasquirt. It can handle both fuel injection and ignition like the TEC3. $500 sounds a little steep for even the megasquirt II. You may be including the relay board and some other odds and ends, but you don't have to use a relay board, I don't.

I don't have any experience with the TEC3. I would guess the major non-technical difference is that you'll be on your own as far as configuring and testing with the Megaqsquirt unit. TEC3 is a comercial product and you should be able to find someone out there to help you with the configuration and tuning if you need to. Regardless, I would strongly suggest you include a wide band O2 sensor with your installation, provides much better feedback on your AFR and additional tuning flexability as you can program the EFI controller with a richer target AFR for better drivability and HP.

Good luck with your installation.

Regards,

Mac
Old 05-27-2006 | 12:03 AM
TonyG
Rennlist Junkie Forever

911mac

Thanks for the reply.

My biggest problem is that I've emailed some of the vendors that sell assembled units, with questions, but nobody has responded.

I need questions answered like: