Notices
911 Forum 1964-1989
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

Trouble starting 2.2 T from cold - any suggestions?

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2003 | 03:40 AM
Peter R
2nd Gear

Post Trouble starting 2.2 T from cold - any suggestions?

By way of introduction, I'm new to the 911, and am wondering if I'm doing something wrong when I start up the car in the morning. I'd be grateful for any advice/thoughts on the problem...

I'll attempt to describe the problem below:

1. Car is a 911T 2.2 on Webers.

2. Problem only occurs when car is cold. It's winter here in Australia, and where I live, temperatures are getting down to just above freezing point during the day. When hot, it turns over a few times and invariable starts fine, settling down to a normal idle. No problems there.

3. Problem didn't seem to happen when I first got the car, in summer.

4. When I start the car, I first give the petrol pump a few seconds to get itself together, pull up the handthrottle about halfway, pump the accelerator three times, then depress the accelerator just a little (all as per user manual so far), then engage the startmotor. It always fires up instantly, revving high for a split second before settling down to a rough idle. Playing with the handthrottle or taking my foot off the accelerator altogether can smooth the idle, but the handthrottle makes it idle pretty fast by the time it's smooth - I'm not sure if that's a good thing to do to a cold engine.

It then runs roughly for a while, but gradually starts dying until it stops. It will do this whether the hand throttle has it idling high or I let it settle down with my foot off the accelerator.