Clatter vs. Chatter?

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2001, 02:30 PM
Ragtop
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Clatter vs. Chatter?

OK, I'm a 911 Newbie.

Last month I bought an '87 911 Cabriolet with 57K miles.

I'll be doing the 60K service shortly and I want to zero in on the "noise" from the back end.

I've heard about valve clatter and clutch chatter. I have a sound coming from the rear and I can't feel anything through the gas pedal or steering. It appears at low RPMs. When I start in 1st it sounds like a bucket of bolts rattling. It can happen even without shifting. Say I start in first, shift to second, slow down and coast and let the clutch out, when I slowly accelerate later, the chatter/clatter appears.

What do you think?

Thanks in advance.

--Dan
Old 07-26-2001, 02:58 PM
john#6
Advanced

If you're running Fuchs, it could be a loose hub cap making that noise, and it might not be only at the rear check all four just in case.

-"87 Carrera Coupe
Old 07-26-2001, 03:19 PM
JBH
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Ragtop:

Congrats on the '87 Cab.

More information would be helpful here...do you hear the noise at idle or when the clutch and transmission are disengaged?

Does it change with engine speed?

When you hear it then push in the clutch pedal, what happens?

Valves you will hear at idle and it will vary with RPM - doesn't matter what the transmission is doing.

I would think clutch chatter (or is it clatter?) would probably change depending on the pedal position.

From what you have said it seems like it is neither valves or clutch.
Old 07-26-2001, 03:44 PM
Ragtop
3rd Gear

Thanks JBH. I love this car. Should've bought one years ago.