Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

'89 911 and R134

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2003, 10:02 AM
jrhslick
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb '89 911 and R134

Can anyone that has made the conversion (successfully) to R134 refrigerant in their AC please email me (or submit to the list) how the conversion was completed? My '89 911 has been converted to R134, but does not blow very cold.
(Do I need a new evaporator?) thanks
Old 06-18-2003, 06:45 PM
ked
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I am not an AC expert, however, the consensus seems to be that...
a) 911 AC is marginal until the C2 models, when AC was "designed-in" not "added on".
b) on a 14 year old car, any & all components of the AC are suspect - on a 911, there are unique aspects such as having two condensers (front one w/ a fan that is known to fail) and lenghthy hoses.
c) R134 is not as effective as R12, esp. in systems that were designed in the R12 era.

& yes, you may need an evaporator or a drier, or other parts, but I would have a 911 AC expert evaluate the complete system before buying pieces ala carte.

I am trying an alternative refrigerant in my '87, based upon hydrocarbons (butane / methane). I sourced mine from Duracool, so far so cool.
Old 06-19-2003, 02:10 AM
Ed Bighi
Racer

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
I would also recommend giving these folks a call. Just go to <a href="http://www.scottsind.com." target="_blank">www.scottsind.com.</a> They specialize in 911 air conditioning.
Old 06-19-2003, 10:15 AM
realtime
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
The system in my '87 was converted to R134 by the PO and it didnt blow too cold until I had it recharged. - Thats one (low $$) place to start. There are other, more $$ options out there if you do a web search or try the previous suggestions. One source if you want to go all the way (add condensor, ducts, etc etc): <a href="http://www.griffiths.com" target="_blank">www.griffiths.com</a>
800-451-7225 (in NJ)

Dan