Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

79 SC WIDE BODY ????

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2005, 09:31 AM
logg
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 79 SC WIDE BODY ????

Hi to all, my name is Jeff and I'm very new to the 911 world but have owned a couple of water cooled in the past. I just purchased a 1979 911SC coupe that I'm trying to get a history lesson on from the experienced persons on this site. The car is a European model vin# 9119302861. It spent it's first 6 years in Germany with 2 owners before being imported to South Carolina in 1985. The car has some paperwork with it from Germany that indicates the previous owners names and addresses and even license numbers. the same paperwork also has a car description page with a list of specifics to this car. It lists the car as a 1979 911 SC 3.0. This paper work also describes such items as wheel base, hp metric, top speed Km, wheel and tire option, key code number, VIN, wieght, length, width, and other descriptive items to this car. The last item on the list says turbo model; and then lists all the Porsche part numbers for the front and rear spoilers,front and rear wheel spacers, bolts, and the new track width. I've asked others without any true answere. Is there such a thing as a factory wide body for 79 911 Euro cars ?? the fenders are no doubt metal and the original owner from the states indicated the car was imported this way. It also has the 16" wheels on it. Please help if you can, I'm interested in finding the truth.
Thanks in advanced,

Jeff
Old 10-18-2005, 10:36 AM
pjc
Burning Brakes

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

I din't think the Turbo look (M491 option) came in until the 1986 model 3.2 Carrera? First shown at the Swedish Motor Show in 1985 as a Cabrio to demonstrate the look.

PJC
Old 10-18-2005, 11:14 AM
logg
Track Day