Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

new guy with questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2005, 01:40 PM
NJREALTOR55
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new guy with questions

Hey everyone! I found this place thru a friend (perry 951 in the 944 section) a while ago - and decided to join finally.

I am kind of new to 911's, even though my family had a 79 targa while i was growing up.

Now that I am a little older (26) I am not interested in racing jetskis or dirtbikes as much, and would like to start on a project 911. I am just married, and planning to have kids soon. I would love to pass down my enthusiasim (sp?) about porsches. It seems there are others on this board who are doing that as well - and I think it is a wonderful way to bond with kids. I know it worked for me.

I am looking into purchasing a 911 in the next couple years (got the house but gotta build a nice garage 1st) - and I wanted to get something like my family had when I was younger. I like the targa, but the coupe has great looks as well - it will be a hard choice when I start seriously looking.

My question is, what are the big differences in 911's from 78 - mid 80's? I have seen a bunch of models and I like the way they look, but I would like to know more about engine size, obtainable HP, model options, reliability & general prices.
Old 07-28-2005, 02:37 PM
jeff911
8th Gear