Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

possible 83 targa purchase, problems...

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2004, 02:44 AM
Dave H.
Addict
Rennlist Member

Location: Seattle - it's not Hell, but you can see it from here!
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default possible 83 targa purchase, problems...

friend of a friend of a, etc... is selling an 83 targa, 117k miles. i was told it has an 85 motor in it. the top leaked and the inside was flooded. now the engine runs, but not great. says the top seals have been replaced, but i haven't confirmed that, the guy is hard to get a hold of.

i'm a VW dealer tech and our shop forman was a porsche dealer tech from about '70 to '80. he said to run away.

how likely is it the wet wiring is making it run rough? there's an ignition box under the driver's seat, right? he has a new one but hasn't installed it yet.

obviously a PPI would be in order, but should i waste my time and money? eventually this would be my daily driver.

the asking price is $6k, which may come down to hasten the sale.

so, walk away or run?

Old 06-20-2004, 04:41 AM
earlyapex
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 62 Likes on 32 Posts

This guy should pay you 6k to take the car from him and even then you should run away. Your pictures are worth a thousand words. The car has been abandoned and as such the problems that you mention are only the beginning that you will find if you buy this thing. You may consider buying it for 1k and parting it out for a profit, but you want a daily driver. Porsche are buy no means cheap to restore so don't buy a restoration project. If your budget is under 10k, then consider a well maintained 944. You shouldn't look at any Porsche that has not had a good maintenence history. Repairs get very expensive very quickly and they will sore your Porsche experience. Be patient and you will find the right Porsche.
Old 06-20-2004, 06:40 AM
GoodWife
AutoX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts