Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

1987 engine quits

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2004, 09:10 AM
gbailey911
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1987 engine quits

Thanks to all who read and respond. I am new to Rennlist after joining just yesterday. I have owned my first Porsche, a 1987 911 coupe, for a little over a year and the experience so far has been fantastic. On to my problem: Last weekend I broke one of my cardinal rules and backed the car out of the garage into the pouring rain for a trip to visit my father. The weatherman called for rain on and off all weekend, but my 75 year old father said I couldn't come unless I drove the Porsche so he could drive it. The trip up was uneventful and I realized the car does fine in the rain and the windshield wipers actually work. Saturday afternoon, while my father was driving, after a quick run up to about 80 mph, there was a noticeable pop from the engine area and the engine quit completely. The car was still in gear as we slowed down but it did not fire at all as the drive train turned over the engine. We pulled off the road, turned the key off, and I opened the engine compartment to look for any problemes. Everthing looked OK so I asked my father to try and re-start the engine. He turned the key and the engine started immediately. We drove the remaining 30 miles as if nothing had happened, the engine ran just fine. Later that evening, I headed back to my house, about a 100 mile trip. Seventy five miles into the trip, it happened again, this time without any noticeable pop and this time I had been running at a steady speed. I pulled to a stop, turned the key off, waited 10 seconds and re-started the engine and drove off. The engine ran fine before and after the shut-down.

Just for info, I recently had just changed the distributor cap, rotor button, spark plugs, adjusted the valves and changed the oil and filter at 75,000 miles.

Does anyone have any idea what might be happening and the cause?