Notices
911 Forum 1964-1989
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

I am making reproduction Porsche engine cases!

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2017, 10:55 PM
Catorce
Banned

Received 73 Likes on 45 Posts
Default I am making reproduction Porsche engine cases!

So I just singed up for this vendor thing, but a day ago I was just an enthusiast like you. I have a few Porsches and I have been building the motors recreationally for over 20 years.

When it came time to build my 914-6 GT clone, I found it really difficult to source a 3.6 case because either they were being snapped up by Singer or other rabid enthusiasts for their builds.

I was offered burned motors, cracked cases, and all manner of cases that I would consider to be one step from the dumpster. Oh, and these cases were being offered at huge premiums to boot.

And the one time I found a serviceable case, It needed 4500 worth of machining to make that which was round round, and that which was flat, flat. There had to be a better way.

So I asked around, asked a simple question:

Who is building repro cases? I phoned several renowned engine builders including my own machinist, Walt Watson, and I got crickets. Wow, no one is building these. They have only had about 20 years to do it.

So, I decided to make my own.

I took a decent964 case and had it scanned to 50 microns, and then developed a solidworks model from the point cloud. I took that model to one of the best toolmakers in Southern California (who has tooled up many engines, and done all the tooling for companies like IPD and Polo motors) and had molds made to recast the 064 engine case.

But not just the case as the factory designed it, I wanted something better. I wanted it to be stronger, and I wanted it to be more serviceable, and I also wanted it to be more conducive to large bore spigots than any other extant case.