Sponsored by:

Considering a 2019 Cayman S...

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2019, 12:07 AM
aegiswings
Intermediate

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Considering a 2019 Cayman S...

So, I have a 2019 BMW 235i and when the 2019 M2 Competition came out I decided to order one and pick it up in Germany. The only local dealer that had available production slots wanted $5k for a slot. I didn't want to pay that so I put down a deposit at another dealer that didn't charge a premium and got on the waiting list. I've been waiting for several months now and as time goes on I get less and less excited about the M2. It is an upgrade from my current car, but it is basically the same car. My 2 is also in good condition with only 33k miles.

Since I am tired of waiting, I am considering dropping off the waiting list, keeping my 2 and getting a Cayman S. I'm new to the Porsche world, and I'm a little overwhelmed. There are only like 5 colors and 6 options to chose from for the M2, but with Porsche everything is a la cart!

Here are my options so far:
  • Buy a new Cayman S off the lot at a local dealer. There is one I was looking at recently: night blue, manual, black/luxor interior, power sport seats, heated seats, chrono package, apple carplay. MSRP $79,460. I might be able to get a good deal as it is on the lot. I love the color and definitely want a manual but it doesn't have all the options I want. Will I really miss PASM? Plus, I won't be able to do euro delivery as its already here.
  • Order a new Cayman S. Not sure of the color but maybe night blue and graphite blue interior. Manual transmission, power sport seats, PASM, PTV (do I need PTV?), Bose stereo, apple carplay. 20" Carrera S wheels, chrono package (do I need this if I get a manual?). MSRP: $84,620. Will I miss the premium package? I will definitely do euro delivery.