Wanted: Sebring Tips

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2004, 09:57 AM
BrokeAss
Driver Carries No Cash
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Wanted: Sebring Tips

I'm getting ready for my first DE at Sebring with my 964. (I've driven a few times B4, but years ago) In preparation I've been watching a lot of in car video that I've gotten from friends. I've compiled a list of "Sebring Cliff Notes" that I thought I'd share. As a student driver I'd appreciate some feedback and tips from you guys with a lot more experience.
  • Turn 1 - look for a cone marking the apex stuck in the fencing. You're more or less "blind" on entry
  • Heading into turn 2 stay more or less in the center of the track to better line up turn 3
  • Late apex 3
  • Compromise turn 4 and don't track all the way out - you've got to nail turn 5
  • Turn 5 is critical - heads onto a long straight - gotta get a really late apex here. If you turn in too early, you're going off track!
  • turn 6 - flat out
  • Turn 7 the safety pin big braking zone, don't come in too hot. Late apex the turn so that you drive a straight line through the twisty
  • Turn 8 & 9 - flat out
  • Get a late apex into 10
  • Getting 10 done right leaves you on the "wrong" side of 11, so it's compromised. Just use a steady hand and a constant radius and the track will "come to you" putting you in position for turn 12.
  • Turn 13 - Don't bother moving to the extreme left to get setup for the right-hander. Drive a straight line off the exit of 12 into the entry of 13
  • turn 14 - flat out
  • Turn 15 - not much to say....
  • Turn 16 is absolutely critical as it leads onto the big straight. There's 'extra' room on entry of the turn, so you can swing wide and get a comfortable run at the apex