Sponsored by: DashLynx

Best speakers for 993

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2014, 08:23 PM
PRSWILL
Rennlist Member

Received 443 Likes on 292 Posts
Default Best speakers for 993

I have ADS 2 ways in the back - not sure if these are what Porsche sent with the car originally or not- but they are very mid-range biased and not very smooth. the fronts have been replaced with Rockford Fosgate 2 ways and the Amp under the seat is also a Rockford Fosgate- decent power- but the sound is just so marginal. I admit i am a bit of an audio snob- as a musician i have to be. But i'd love to hear what folks are putting in their cars that sound really great. I know Porches have never been known for their audio prowness, but there's got to be some good setups right? right??
Old 04-14-2014, 08:49 PM
dbrians
Instructor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I installed Focal speakers in the doors and in the rear deck. K2 Power 165's in the doors (6-½") and K2 Power 100's in the rear deck (4"). I could not fit the JL Audio HD/600 amp that others have used so I installed an older Focal amp (75w x 4). I did not install a sub-woofer & amp since my listening habits don't justify it. And, yes, the paper speakers that I removed were torn. Very pleased with the result as I decided before I began that it had to appear factory OEM once completed.
Old 04-14-2014, 08:55 PM
Spyder_Man
Drifting

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

I'll be going down this road too. I have the factory Hi-Fi option and as far as I can tell two of the driver's side front speakers are shot and the rear passenger side is shot too. It makes it a somewhat unpleasant experience for my passengers when I route most all the sound through the front passenger side and crank the volume so that I can hear it well enough in the driver's seat.

Does anyone know what the specs are for the original Hi-Fi amp? I'm wondering whether I need to swap that out in addition to replacing speakers.