Notices
993 Forum 1995-1998

95 993 Cab Top Problem. Stumped!

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2009, 12:36 AM
mikefo
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 95 993 Cab Top Problem. Stumped!

I am new to Porsche although I have had and maintained many BMW's. I recently purchased a Black/Cashmere 95 cab with 13k miles on it and drove it back home over 1,300 miles with no problems. Over the last few weeks I have been sorting out the car fixing the squeaky windshield (White lithium grease applied to bottom seal), changing front/rear hood struts, new caps and arms, cleaning ISV valve, changing plugs as well as the right side lower valve cover.

Success in all fronts other than a cab top problem that started this week. Top has worked fine with the exception of a twanging sound (think banjo string being plucked) I suspected was the top cables. This did not effect operation. Over the last few day I have been upgrading the Stereo from the Hi-fi package to something that sounds good while leaving the stock look. This included replacing the rear speakers as well as the AMP under the passenger seat. After the Stereo upgrade, I lowered the top halfway to clean / lubricate the top/bottom seals (again with white lithium). Then re-closed the top. When I re-closed the top, the top-down dash warning light would not shut off.