Sponsored by:

Mission E and Exhaust note

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2017, 12:34 AM
clemsondds
Rennlist Member

Received 33 Likes on 19 Posts
Default Mission E and Exhaust note

Forgive my ignorance please. I have a 911 and am planning to move to a 4 door in the next year or so. I have been dreaming of a car that fits somewhere between a 911 and a panamera, so it sounds like the size of the mission e would be perfect. I'm concerned about losing out on the wonderful porsche exhaust note.. Will there be no sound out all? I am completely new to the electric car scene obviously. I just can't imagine driving around in a perfectly silent car...even if it does go around corners well...my happiest moments are when I am accelerating out of a curve and just get to hear that exhaust rev up to the red line. I just can't imagine it being silent. Am I missing something?
Old 12-23-2017, 12:07 PM
daveo4porsche
Rennlist Member

Received 3,614 Likes on 1,766 Posts

My Bolt EV and Tesla's make virtually no noise - other than wind noise and road noise at speed. I love a good exhaust note - they sound soooooo good in my rear view mirror - but I don't miss the noise one bit! It's part of the new reality that the exhaust note is soon to be in our past - just like horse farts.
Old 12-23-2017, 12:35 PM
daveo4porsche
Rennlist Member

the instant torque and throttle response will more than make up for the lack of exhaust note - recommend you test Drive a Tesla Model S P100D - if you find that unacceptable from a performance point of view (and lack of exhaust note) you won't be a customer for the Mission E…but I'm 4 years in to driving EV's and consider people's concerns about exhaust note to be "quaint".
Old 12-23-2017, 12:49 PM
clemsondds
Rennlist Member

Received 33 Likes on 19 Posts

“Quaint” LOL
Old 12-24-2017, 12:42 AM
tcsracing1
Rennlist Member

Received 256 Likes on 172 Posts

it is like riding on golf cart.....
Old 12-24-2017, 09:35 AM
unclewill
Racer