Sponsored by:

1st track car vs DE in 991.2 GTS

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2019, 08:13 PM
JSETarga
Burning Brakes

Received 152 Likes on 103 Posts
Default 1st track car vs DE in 991.2 GTS

I am in my second year of DEs and have 1 solo event under my belt. I am still new and have a lot to learn. However, I am getting better/faster and hope to continue that path. Safety, cost of potential repairs, consumables and wear on my Targa GTS are a concern. I would like to continue this sport, but feel like I need a harness, seat, cage, etc. to move much further forward. I am not willing to do this to my street car. So, I am considering either moving on from this hobby or getting a track car. I actually learned how to drive a stick in a 944 20 years ago. However, I have never driven a track only car or a 944 on a track. The 3 cars I have done DE with are a ‘16 ATS-V, a 16 Z06 and a 17 GTS. All are high power cars and turbo or super charged. Obviously I could learn a lot driving a low power car and losing electronic assistance with nannies. If I got a 944 track ready car then... Will I enjoy it as much? Will there be enough power for me? Will the experience be thrilling? Will I be satisfied or want to just track my street car? Should I look at a different car? Wife probably wont go for much over 15-20k so....
Old 04-21-2019, 08:30 PM
ace37
Rennlist Member

Received 133 Likes on 84 Posts

You might rent a race car for a local event and see, try before you buy. Some prefer to do that for extended periods anyways. No hassle, arrive and drive - there’s a lot to be said for that.
Old 04-21-2019, 08:37 PM
JSETarga
Burning Brakes

Originally Posted by ace37
You might rent a race car for a local event and see, try before you buy. Some prefer to do that for extended periods anyways. No hassle, arrive and drive - there’s a lot to be said for that.