Sponsored by:

Moving to a dedicated track car

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-2018, 04:13 PM
Inrev
Burning Brakes

Received 143 Likes on 70 Posts
Default Moving to a dedicated track car

Hi everyone, I've been doing DE's for the past 12 years now, started with a 350Z and moved to an R8, Cayman S, GT3, GT4 and now a 991.2 C2S with 2 kid seats in the back. I moved from the GT4 to the C2S because I barely drove my GT4 as I couldn't haul my kids around.

I did DE's this season with the 991.2, and I'm about 1 sec faster around Tremblant than I was with the GT4. The cost of consumables on the other hand, has gone out of control. Tires and brakes alone cost double with the C2S (Ferodo DS11.1). Track tires are impossible to find in 20s except the costly MPSC2 and they last me 3 days at most whereas I could get cheaper tires on the GT4 in 19in lasting 4 days. Brake pads change on the 991.2 after 4 days for all 4 corners whereas the GT4 would last 6-7 front and about 12-13 rears! I'm at the point where, when factoring travel, gas, hotels, consumables and fees I'm getting close to $2k CAD per day which is getting past comfortable. I've been looking for cheaper tire alternatives in this thread https://rennlist.com/forums/991/1102...ack-tires.html but fact is I'm probably at the point of moving to a lighter, safer dedicated track/race car.

This is a world where I'm lost. There are many race cars for sale, with many mods and it's confusing t. I thought about going the Radical route but the open cockpit is a no-no at this point. Maybe when my kids are older... I'm thinking a 944 race car since they're cheap and handle well but I'm worried that coming from my more powerful street cars I will find them slow and boring. I must admit a Cayman interseries car or an older cup car would be nice but it'd be stretching my budget.

I'm not looking to race, at least not next season. I want to go with something visceral, reliable,safe and well sorted out. Anyone care to chime in?

Thanks