Notices
997 Forum 2005-2012
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

997.2 Buying Advice...(C2S, C4S, C4 GTS...Cayman S)

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2018, 08:55 PM
zoiks
Rennlist Member

Received 21 Likes on 14 Posts
Default 997.2 Buying Advice...(C2S, C4S, C4 GTS...Cayman S)

Folks, I've been lurking for some time trying to educate myself on the various Porsche models. Huge thanks to all of the outstanding information on this site! I started out looking at a used Cayman S, and a used 997.2 C2S...if I have all of my terminology correct. I then got drawn into C4S, and most recently I've seen a few C4 GTS's. I've been a HPDE instructor for various PCA's regions but never actually owned a Porsche. I've driven them on the track and absolutely love the handling and performance characteristics. I've spent the most time in a Cayman S and very little time in the 997.2's. I plan to keep doing 4-6 HPDE events per year, and just enjoy the car only when the weather is great. I've always driven 6 speed manuals but I do love the Porsche PDK and I think I would lean slightly towards the PDK transmission...assuming it's reliable. I want to minimize yearly maintenance costs and hopefully stay away from any regular high dollar repairs. I can do most work myself but Porsche dealers are a long ways away. I'm not trying to be a pro race driver, just have some fun and help teach others. Some of my thoughts/findings are:

Cayman S - could afford a 2014/2015 model with low mileage. Certified. Loses value the fastest.
997.2 C2S - 2009 to 2012. (no 991's)
997.2 C4S - 2009 to 2012.
997.2 C4 GTS - Cost is a bit out of what I'd like to spend but I think they would retain their value better? I like the specs, worried about what I've read on center lock wheels. It does seem like the complaints died down a ton from when these CL's first came out. Should I stay away from CL's for HPDE?

For all of these I would want the sports chrono package and the PASM. I am intentionally staying away from 997.1's...