Notices
928 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: 928 Specialists

R134a pressures getting too high?

 
Old 06-01-2019, 01:11 PM
  #46  
dr bob
Chronic Tool Dropper
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
 
dr bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 17,854
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Great Job, Looks Good!

Your next "worry" is that the freeze switch isn't opening the compressor circuit. new, they should open just above freezing, close again before the temp gets above about 40║F at the probe. The freeze switch is in fact a wearing part, based on the beryllium-copper diaphragm that actuates a little microswitch. The diaphragm is part of a little bellows, and metal work-hardens with flexing over time. It becomes less and less responsive until it finally sticks closed. Many folks with tired systems don't have the refrigeration-side performance needed to get the evaporator that cold, so never get to experience the "worry" over an evaporator freeze-up. You'll know it's happening as airflow falls off. Just turn the compressor off manually and let it thaw out. Best to have a functioning freeze switch especially in more humid conditions -- it will ice faster with the humidity, and will also dump cold water on your feet as it thaws. There's no guarantee that the bottom will thaw before the top, so the path to the drain hose may not be clear.
dr bob is offline  
Old 06-01-2019, 01:22 PM
  #47  
captainOCD
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
captainOCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: SC
Posts: 363
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

It's up to about 90 out now. I didn't go for as long of a drive, just up the road 2 miles to the post office with a couple redlights on the way and it was still getting to 40f at the vents.


Hopefully in 100 degrees as long as it's not sitting in traffic for extended periods of time, it'll keep working. But at least now, as long as that pressure switch (mercedes # 124 820 83 10 behr # 6ZL 351 022-011) works, at least the worst case scenario should be the ac just turns off rather than the compressor safety blow out.


I was thinking about the freeze switch not working now. I have a feeling that once it's warmer here it won't be getting down to 25 again anyway, but I'll look into getting a replacement freeze switch. At least it doesn't require opening the a/c system though.

I didn't check to see if I had water dripping from the drain. I didn't hear water sloshing around in the dash, so hopefully it is, but I do want to check to make sure it's clear.

Thanks again for the help gents.
captainOCD is offline  
Old 06-01-2019, 04:20 PM
  #48  
Speedtoys
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Speedtoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boulder Creek, CA
Posts: 9,910
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

OCD...sorry if you mentioned it.

Is your recirculation flap working? On a short drive that seems ok.

40d on a 90d day is NOT BAD if the intake air tot he system is 80d or higher (inside air, hot day).

100d intake air down to 40d would be somewhat spectacular, 30-40d drop should be...normal.
Speedtoys is offline  
Old 06-01-2019, 04:25 PM
  #49  
captainOCD
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
captainOCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: SC
Posts: 363
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I tested and confirmed that all the actuators for the flaps are holding vacuum and it sounds like they're all moving in the dash. When I turn on the AC I can hear what I assume is the recirc flap moving and pulling air from in the cabin vs from outside.
captainOCD is offline  
Old 06-01-2019, 05:15 PM
  #50  
[email protected]
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
j.kenzie@sbcglobal.net's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Park Ridge, IL (near Chicago)
Posts: 2,835
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi Matt,
I seem to remember that the freeze switch is adjustable. You may be able to pull it out and put it in ice water, then turn a screw to change the set point. I could be wrong, or the freeze switch may simply be broken.
Good luck,
Dave
j.kenzie@sbcglobal.net is offline  
Old 06-01-2019, 06:44 PM
  #51  
Speedtoys
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Speedtoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boulder Creek, CA
Posts: 9,910
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by captainOCD View Post
I tested and confirmed that all the actuators for the flaps are holding vacuum and it sounds like they're all moving in the dash. When I turn on the AC I can hear what I assume is the recirc flap moving and pulling air from in the cabin vs from outside.
Cool, dont be worried about the freeze switch just yet.

Driving 2 miles on a 90d day wont get the system cool inlet air to judge what the outlet really can be.

Need to measure the system inlet air temp at the floor.
Speedtoys is offline  
Old 06-03-2019, 10:21 AM
  #52  
captainOCD
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
captainOCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: SC
Posts: 363
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

It got down even further last night after 30 miles on the highway with it being about 75 ambient. Surprisingly I still had plenty of airflow on fan speed 2.

captainOCD is offline  
Old 06-03-2019, 12:53 PM
  #53  
dr bob
Chronic Tool Dropper
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
 
dr bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 17,854
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
Hi Matt,
I seem to remember that the freeze switch is adjustable. You may be able to pull it out and put it in ice water, then turn a screw to change the set point. I could be wrong, or the freeze switch may simply be broken.
Good luck,
Dave
The freeze switch is in fact adjustable as Dave explains. With the cover removed (a couple screws...) and switch out of the car, there's a tiny adjustment on the microswitch position that you can adjust. The probe goes into ice water, with an accurate thermometer that has numbers you can actually read. My digital AC thermometer works, or if you have a good instant-read grilling thermometer that will work too. Use your DMM set to read Ohms/continuity at the terminals, then probe in a glass, a little water in the glass, then ice in the glass. Watch the temperature fall on the thermometer, and see where the switch opens. Should be around 35║F (falling). Adjust if needed. Take some ice out and slowly add more water, so you can see the switch close before the temperature gets above 40║F (rising).

As mentioned previously, the little bellows will get work-hardened where it flexes as it cycles normally. The operating range slowly expands when that happens, to a point where there isn't motion available there to cycle the switch correctly. Time for a new switch then. This is a common fatigue failure, FWIW. The switches are pretty reasonable, and the only replacement caveats are to avoid puncturing an evaporator tube when you place the probe, and avoid kinking the capillary tube. Else replacement is a whole lot faster than the testing. I've dinked with a few of these switches, and all needed replacement.
dr bob is offline  
Old 06-03-2019, 01:04 PM
  #54  
[email protected]
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
j.kenzie@sbcglobal.net's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Park Ridge, IL (near Chicago)
Posts: 2,835
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Great results, Matt. The evaporator might not ice up, if the humidity is low engough, but a properly functioning freeze switch is good protection and easy to swap.
Good luck,
Dave
j.kenzie@sbcglobal.net is offline  
Old 06-03-2019, 02:18 PM
  #55  
dr bob
Chronic Tool Dropper
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
 
dr bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 17,854
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Oh yeah, what Dave sez ^^^.


Buy gloves to keep yer fingers from freezing.
dr bob is offline  
Old 06-03-2019, 02:49 PM
  #56  
captainOCD
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
captainOCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: SC
Posts: 363
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Normally it is pretty humid here, but it mustn't be this week. I'll add a new freeze switch to my list of things to replace. I tried bumping the temp slider up to 70-75 last night and that didn't seem to change the temp of the air coming out to reach the new temp target, despite it being about 65 in the car at that point. So I might have some more hvac work to do still, but at least I can survive driving it around here in the summer now.
captainOCD is offline  
Old 06-03-2019, 06:50 PM
  #57  
Tampa 928s
Super User
 
Tampa 928s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tampa Florida
Posts: 3,997
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

When I read about the freeze switch adjustment it brought to mind an issue I have. Air is good but after driving a while especially on the interstate I can feel a rise in temperature and a musty smell. It corrects itself after a few minutes could this be a candidate for adjustment or just cutting out the compressor and doing as designed?
Tampa 928s is offline  
Old 06-04-2019, 12:17 AM
  #58  
dr bob
Chronic Tool Dropper
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
 
dr bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 17,854
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Depends on the temperature but.... If it's doing that ll by itself, it's working as designed. Do the test/adjust with the ice water if the temp range you measure differs from the limits I shared. The pocket digital kitchen thermometer I use stores min and max, making the testing a snap.
dr bob is offline  
Old 06-04-2019, 12:42 AM
  #59  
captainOCD
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
captainOCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: SC
Posts: 363
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I didn't pull the freeze switch off my blue car yet, but I did pull the one off my parts car. I found that the bellows on it doesn't move with temp at all (even when put in the freezer). It seems to be stuck fully extended. I'll have to pull the one off the car and see what it looks like, but I bet it's the same and just needs replaced.
captainOCD is offline  
Old 06-05-2019, 12:30 AM
  #60  
poppydaddy
New User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Salem VA
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking

Hey guys, I really enjoyed reading all of the threads about Captian OCDs AC problems! Working with HVAC of many different types and applications for about 45 years I thought everyone's comments and advise was very specific and on point! I would only add one thing. I read that you did clean and pressure washed the condenser and straightened a few fins, Excellent! Take it one step further. Soak it with a cleaner such as purple power or spray nine on the condenser, front and back (as much as possible) it wont hurt the radiator to get cleaned also and let it sit for a few minutes, then rinse thoroughly. The film from 30 plus years does insulate the metal (too much paint will also insulate the condenser). You should see a difference.

Its the same for all AC. The first 6 inches at the bottom of you home AC condenser is practically worthless because it suffers from insufficient air flow... from STUFF the air, which collects dirt, grass, leaves, etc all which slow down the air movement and cooling your refrigerant.

Again, great thread!
Poppy
poppydaddy is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: