Notices

The Slippery Slope

Old 04-05-2017, 09:26 AM
Joe Lapin
Racer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default The Slippery Slope

As the new season approaches, we inevitably rationalize our cravings and the endless expenses incurred in 'improving' our cars. It might be prudent to reflect on this process somewhat, lest we become mindless lemmings, obsessively forfeiting the inherent pleasure in our Porsche DE experience.

There are always 'valid' improvements possible for our cars.
In my 996 C4S, I hit the slippery slope at a full gallop, with my VISA card throbbing! As an industrial designer, I flattered myself with a technical appreciation for each and every gizmo!
I was reliving my Yoshimura Honda days!

IPD plenum, cold air intake, X-pipe exhaust, ECU flash, extended sump and baffle, short shifter, lowered springs, sway bars, shocks, GT3 seat and more.

I rationalized the 'sleep at night' issues of the IMS issues, and had multiple conversations with Jake Raby, et al. When I was able to buy the 997.2 with the new engine, I was finally able to put the IMS nightmares to rest.

Each modification did offer an improvement, however, the cost in comfort and drivability as a road car, became more and more compromised.

Some of the guys are building track specific cars, and this seems to be the best solution for optimizing the car. However, it comes with a huge cost in hardware, (truck and trailer), storage, and transportation complications.

In retrospect, I now see the wisdom in enjoying a minimally modified car. For me, the 'Arrive and Drive' situation, with LCMT a mere 80 minutes from my home, is an absolute joy! As I was told, 'There will always be a faster car, and a faster driver nearby.'

The challenge is not so much about speed, but rather about enjoyment!!!