Question: Vehicle Transport From Vancouver To Toronto

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2015, 03:53 PM
bcrdukes
Three Wheelin'

Received 196 Likes on 148 Posts
Default Question: Vehicle Transport From Vancouver To Toronto

Hi folks,

I'm looking to see if anyone has experience transporting their vehicle from one province to another using a transport carrier?

I've been putting this off for many years, but alas, I may have to succumb to the pressures of corporate Canada and the centre of the universe. There is a very likely chance I may have to move to Toronto Q1 2016.

I don't want to sell my car over a career decision (it was the very reason I decided to treat myself to one!) and would like to bring along with me.

For those of you who live in Toronto, do you drive your Porsche year round? I'm going to need to find a suitable place to live with no immediate plans to buy for the time being. I think it's also safe to say leaving it on the street is not a great idea.

Thanks in advance!

Mike
Old 10-03-2015, 04:43 PM
Sniffer
Rennlist Member

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Ive shipped a car and used "uShip"

Its basically an online auction where various transport vendors size up your requirements and the lowest bidder wins

In my experience the quotes varied widely, some were outrageous (like more than double what others quoted) and while there may be reasons why they feel their service is worth more I ended up finding a suitable courier with adequate insurance who delivered the car in perfect condition within the time frame we agreed - I was happy

I should say that I did go with one of the cheaper quotes but not the cheapest. The reason? I thoroughly vetted each potential vendor with questions of "What if" so there was no surprises and the something just wasn't quite right with the lowest bidder (he had a couple of negative feedbacks and after a little more digging it seemed he may well be a crook to some degree) so I looked elsewhere

Caveat Emptor......