Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2015, 02:14 PM
fabe32
Instructor

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default New to tracking in the SF Bay Area

Hi there,

Will you give me some pointers, please.
I am a total newbie in terms of tracking a car.
I now have a GT4 (with LWB ) and am ready to learn tracking.
What group/organization/school do you recommend me to join?
Laguna, Sonoma and ThunderHill locations.

Thanks,

Fabe
Old 11-27-2015, 03:04 PM
Mahler9th
Three Wheelin'

Received 106 Likes on 76 Posts

Welcome.

I have lived in this area for nearly 25 years, and have been pretty active with AX, DE and racing throughout, exclusively in Porsches. Feel free to send me a PM and we can exchange contact info.

I am going to presume that you are serious about learning and developing skills, whether you ever intend to go wheel-to-wheel racing. And of course are serious about having fun.

I recommend as a step 1 that you join the PCA if you are not already a member. There are several excellent PCA regions in the SF Bay area. I have done events with all of them. Although my zipcode naturally places me in Diablo Region, I elect to be a member of Golden Gate Region (GGR).

I suggest making PCA events your starting "home base." GGR has an annual slate of excellent AX and track events. Diablo, Loma Prietta, Redwood, Monterey, Sac Valley-- all will likely have events to get you started. GGR probably has the greatest number. A heavy mix of early experience with PCA groups is extremely beneficial. I cannot emphasize this enough.

My next two target groups for would be Trackmasters Racing and Hooked on Driving. I know the folks that run these businesses and have watched them evolve from their beginnings. These groups, and others like them almost always have instructors available, and with proactive networking you can get lined up with some of their best folks, including those with Porsche experience.