Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Can You Guys Help Out An Idiot Like Me?

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2014, 01:36 AM
rooibos1986
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can You Guys Help Out An Idiot Like Me?

I hope I'm not breaking any rules doing this. I certainly don't mean to. I know many of you are very skilled drivers, so that is why I'm posting here. I thought I was an OK driver. Then, I moved to southern California. Let's just say the drivers here are more aggressive than I am used to - and I'm driving in the city, which is somewhat new for me. I'm really have a hard time. It seems like I'm always having to jump off one freeway to next down here, so lane changes are critical. I find myself struggling with huge amounts of anxiety as I attempt to change lanes. I am trying to find mirrors and such that will help, or a system I should follow as to how to check things to make sure it's safe. The drivers more skilled than me who weave in and out of traffic make things even more dangerous for me.

Any recommendations on mirrors? I've tried some extended view rear view mirrors with the little stick on round one for the outside mirrors, but they don't always seem to help.

I'm trying to find a rear view mirror that will show something much closer to a real 180 degree view (perhaps the 20/20 vision mirror by hercules). What do you all do? I just get confused. Some of the cars come up alongside you SOO fast. Or I'm always worried the car in the lane next to the one I'm changing into will also change into the same spot as me.

Thanks so much.
Old 02-26-2014, 02:52 AM
winders
Race Car

Received 743 Likes on 380 Posts

Karen, is that you???
Old 02-26-2014, 03:35 AM
Rich Sandor
Nordschleife Master

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts