Racing & Drivers Education Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Karting

Old 03-22-2018, 11:28 PM
Closertotruth
Instructor

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

I am just starting to learn something about this sport. Why all the rib injuries? What causes them?
Old 03-23-2018, 12:25 AM
fabe32
Instructor

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Not that I am an expert, but my untrained kart body will tell you that it's rough in the turns.
Not so much the G's per se but the constant loose grip then stick, kindof like a jack hammer on the side of your rib cage when you turn.
Remember, no suspension here.
I went acrobatic flying with a friend of mine and we did a few crazy 5-6 G's loops and figures. My core was very sore because of all the tensing the core and squeezing, but it is smooth, so no braking ribs.
Old 09-24-2018, 12:02 PM
chris walrod
Guru
Lifetime Rennlist

Rennlist Small
Business Sponsor

Received 98 Likes on 50 Posts

some updates from the racing front. Got a few cool shots from local photographer who had posted these online.

on-track

Racing his buddy Gage12
Old 09-25-2018, 11:15 AM
AudiOn19s
Race Car

Received 46 Likes on 37 Posts

My nephew completed his first season in kid karts successfully. I'm actually quite proud of him he's developed into a darn good driver as the year has continued and while he's getting outrun by equipment in some situations, he's driving as well as anyone out there which is really impressive. The proud uncle vibes are strong when watching him!!!