Notices
E/SIM Racing For discussion and info on iRacing, SIMs etc.

Rennlist iRacing thread

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2017, 02:26 PM
BGB Motorsports
Basic Sponsor
Rennlist
Site Sponsor

Received 591 Likes on 261 Posts

Originally Posted by OmniGLH
I'll extend the invite.

As for setups - you walked back into the thread at the right time!

I was thinking of hitting up a few people I know who contract themselves out for trackside support to see if there's some basic setup advice for the 991.1 GT3 Cup we've got here... but I imagine you've got access to some good stuff as well.

I'm far from an expert but to me, the default setup, at some tracks, feels like it's just got the wrong springs on it. Understeers everywhere, then snap oversteer under power... it just feels, wonky? Someone (Krautcars I think) pulled a setup from the VirtualRaceSchool site and it transformed the car in some/most cases... but I still struggle sometimes.

Does a "properly" set up Cup feel pretty close to the baseline setup in iRacing?
Let's put it out there in the open if you don't mind. If you can post a screenshot of your setup i can take a look at it. I will go home tonight and check out mine. These cars are quite easy to dial in. The .2 is a bit more "free" than the .1 in real life but for the most part, you want some mild understeer on entry and exit that can be induced with aggressive throttle at exit or aggressive entry speed. Post what you have and let me take a look at it.

For what it's worth i liked the baseline setup on the car but i don't know if it received an update because now i have a bunch of push and less brake feel.
Old 12-13-2017, 03:56 PM
User 52121
Nordschleife Master

Received 134 Likes on 91 Posts

Ok so far a few people have said they're interested in joining. I shot them invites and will append (TM) to the end of their nickname (for the FB group "Track Midwest").