ASK THE COACH

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2022, 02:12 PM
ProCoach
Rennlist
Basic Site Sponsor

Received 2,801 Likes on 1,655 Posts

Originally Posted by Veloce Raptor

Not only look where yoiu want the car to go (far ahead) but also constantly scan. Never let your vision fixate.

Don't be afraid to trail brake a modern 911! They like it!

Be patient with throttle in the corner, so you only have to go to it ONCE, and can fully commit.

Have fun!
^^These three!^^
"Combining the Art and Science of Driving Fast!"
Specializing in Professional, Private Driver Performance Evaluation and Optimization
Consultation Available Remotely and at VIRginia International Raceway

Old 07-11-2022, 02:08 AM
HelpMeHelpU
Rennlist Member

Received 591 Likes on 375 Posts

Originally Posted by 911T4ME
I'm new to Porsche and rear engine cars with a 2019 911T 7MT. I've driven it on track twice. My home track is Oregon Raceway Park. A highly undulating track with no long straightaway. What would you all say are the three most important tips to drive this car fast around this (or any track) especially given my current lack of experience driving rear engine cars on track. PS - I will be changing from OEM size MPS4S tires to 265/35-19 and 315/30-19 Nanking AR-1 tires next time out.

Thanks
You don't indicate whether you have more track experience with front-engine cars, so it is hard to judge your overall track experience.

That said, here are some overall suggestions, in no particular order. Sorry, more than 3:

Don't worry about modifying equipment quite yet, unless it is for safety gear.

Understand your car. It is turbocharged, so it makes power and torque differently than (for example) a GT3. You also have a manual transmission (yay!). So....consider being in one gear higher than you think, particularly on a very undulating track. Your car will appreciate it, and you will be rewarded with a more settled, compliant, and easy to drive car.